Setting Up for Success

Understand the essentials before launching a campaign

Ashish thakur avatar
Written by Ashish thakur
Updated over a week ago

Last Updated: April, 2024

Pre-Launch Planning

As a Self-Service Platform, Kayzen offers a range of targeting and optimization tools to ensure you have the best setup for any KPI.

Before starting to build a campaign within the platform, you can begin to design it based on your advertiser's needs.

Below is a checklist of the vital information needed to launch a campaign within Kayzen.

  • Understand the Use Case

For Retargeting and User Acquisition use cases, the setup within Kayzen requires specific optimization goals.

For User Acquisition use cases, it is essential to understand the target audience for the advertiser to ensure that the campaign settings allow for the best chances of success.

If there is a niche audience for which the campaign is relevant, this will be reflected within the targeted supply. Please see Curate Supply under Designing a Campaign for more information.

  • Define the primary KPI

Identify an event for primary optimization and expected performance.

Ensure that the event selected will occur often enough for machine learning to be relevant, with 20+ events a day attributed to the campaign.

  1. Define the secondary KPIs - By understanding previous campaign benchmarks or organic performance, set clear secondary KPIs.

For example, if the primary KPI is a $25 CPA target and the expected install-to-conversion rate is 10%, then the secondary KPI is a $2.50 CPI.

Secondary KPIs can be beneficial as optimization events if there are not enough instances of attributed events for the primary KPI.

  • Set Clear budgets and timelines

Define the expected timeline for the given budget and confirm with your account representative that these expectations will allow for a significant learning phase to reach performance targets.

  • Enable MMP Integration

Enabling the MMP integration before the campaign's launch with non-attributed data shared before the launch date can help improve machine learning and reach KPI targets quickly. Please refer to the Partner Integrations Guidelines for a step-by-step guide for MMP integrations.


Designing a Campaign

  • Selecting Creatives for Your Use Case

When planning a campaign, having the best creative assets to meet performance expectations is crucial. Below are a few use cases to consider where each creative type can add value to a campaign.

  1. Video Assets

    1. Increase brand awareness for new or little-known brands.

    2. Drive click-through performance with engaging video and end cards.

    3. Guarantee a completed video view through rewarded un-skippable placements.

    4. Increase reach at an efficient cost through interstitial placements.

  2. Banner Assets

    1. Increase reach at scale with call-to-action messaging.

    2. Find viewable placements in front of valuable users.

    3. Customize messaging to follow upper-funnel creatives as part of creative sequencing optimization.

    4. Expand app publisher variety through banner creatives, as they are the most common placement for non-gaming publishers.

  3. Native Assets

    1. Share brand details with the additional description and call to action.

    2. Integrate seamlessly with publisher content.

    3. Expand reach and improve performance.

  4. Riche Media and Playable Assets.

    1. Acquire new users with engaging custom content.

    2. Drive Click-Through performance by increasing user interaction.

    3. Improve Lifetime value, offering new users a look inside before the need for an install.

    4. This Playable and Viewable creative type is a tailored and valuable addition to any in-app campaign.

  • Creating Tracking Links

Review the Macro tracking article and work closely with your CSM representative to ensure all parameters relevant to the campaign are being tracked.

  • Curate supply

When selecting a supply to test within your campaign, it is essential to consider the target audience for the advertiser and the creative that will be the priority for the campaign.

There may not be a need to limit the supply for advertisers with broad target audiences through app lists or smart app targeting, as it would benefit advertisers with niche use cases.

  1. Exchanges - Kayzen is integrated with many exchanges that offer unique added value to publishers and various types of inventory for advertisers. When planning a campaign to understand what exchanges are the most relevant for your advertiser, please review the Ad Exchange Dossier to understand the specific offering for each exchange

  2. Applists - Applists can refine campaign targeting based on relevancy to an advertiser's target audience. These lists can be based on campaign performance or relevancy using unattributed data.

  3. Smart App Categories - Smart app categories are a granular contextual solution that allows advertisers to refine targeting based on relevant genres.

  • Select an Optimization Type

Kayzen has three optimization goal types that adjust the bid price based on what is most important for each advertiser.

  1. CPM Algorithm - The CPM optimization type is not machine learning. This goal type will bid a flat CPM.

    This optimization type should be used in cases where there is no machine learning optimization event or the advertiser's KPI is reach or cost-related.

  2. CPC Algorithm - The CPC algorithm will optimize for the most efficient bid price to maintain an advertiser's expected cost per click.

    CPC optimization should be used beyond when the primary KPI is CPC to support the re-engagement of users who have already completed an install and in cases where there is no event to optimize towards.

  3. CPI Algorithm - This is the most advanced algorithm recommended for any app-to-app or app-to-web advertiser with significant events to support machine learning.

    The CPI algorithm should be used for any advertiser with a KPI for an in-app or onsite event.

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